ACB Community Calls for the week of 06/28-07/04

Below are upcoming community conference calls. All are welcome to join — Check out the ACB community Calls page on our website for more info on how to join.

Below are upcoming community conference calls. All are welcome to join — Check out the ACB community Calls page on our website for more info on how to join.

Monday, June 29, 2020

Coffee Social with Meka: 11AM ET, 8:00 AM PT, 5am HT

Let’s get social. Join Meka as together we get ready for the week ahead. Bring your favorite morning beverage and let’s connect.

Top Ten Oils and How to Use Them: 2pm ET, 11am PT, 8am HT

Wondering where to start when there are so many amazing essential oils to choose from? Join Hayley this week to learn about what those top ten are and how to incorporate them into your daily habits. To request content from this and previous calls, please reach out to Hayley at: blindessentials@gmail.com

Easy Chair Yoga: 4pm ET, 1pm PT, 10am HT

All you need is a chair, some comfortable clothes, and no shoes and together we can enjoy a relaxing and stress-free hour in the comfort of our own homes. Hosted by Leslie Spoone, Certified Aerobic Instructor and Personal Trainer.

Calling All Seniors: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1pm HT

Are you a single person over 60 who would like to make some new friends?  Perhaps meet that special person that makes your heart go thump, thump, thump?? If so, come join the older kids on our “Seniors Meeting Seniors” call, where we chat, make new friends, and get to know each other.

BITS Open Chat: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Join our special-interest affiliate, Blind Information Technology Specialists for a nightly open chat.

Book Chat: 8:30pm ET, 5:30pm PT, 2:30pm HT

Let’s chat about the book, “Death at La Fenice” by Donna Leon, DB60486, and any other interesting reads of the past couple weeks. Hosted by MCBVI member, Casey Dutmer.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Coffee Social with Cindy: 11AM ET, 8:00 AM PT, 5am HT

Let’s get social. Join in the conversation over your favorite morning beverage. Facilitated by Cindy.

Taking Care of Our Mental Health — Stress Management, the Hows and Whys: 1pm ET, 10am PT, 7am HT

Join Jessie L. Rayl, Ed.D. as she shares the importance of managing stress, how to get better-quality sleep, and other useful tips for stress management.

West Coast Coffee Break: 1pm ET, 10am PT, 7am HT

The ACB Capital Chapter of CCB invites you to bring your favorite beverage and join in this coffee social, West coast Style. Stay 5 minutes or the whole time. Everyone is welcome to take a break with us!

Learning a New Language with Ease: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1pm HT

Are you interested in learning another language? Come learn about Duolingo, a free and accessible app making language learning fun and easy.

Download the Duolingo app here: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/duolingo-language-lessons/id570060128

Tuesday Topics: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Paul’s guest this week will be Janet Dickelman, convention queen. This show will occur three days before the convention starts and most of the infrastructure should be in place. So Janet should be able to tell us what will appear where and how we can do whatever we need to do during the convention. Listen in on ACB Radio Mainstream: www.acbradio.org/mainstream

BITS Open Chat: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Join our special-interest affiliate, Blind Information Technology Specialists for a nightly open chat.

Sheltering In Place, Together: 10pm ET, 7pm PT, 4pm HT

Sick of isolating? Board out of your gourd? Come chillax with your friends in Oregon for a while. Stay for 10 minutes, stay the whole 90. It’s all good! We will discuss a wide range of topics. Come join the fun! Hosted by Teresa Christian and Pat Wallace of ACB of Oregon.

Wednesday, July 1, 2020

Wednesday Check-In: 1pm ET, 10am PT, 7am HT

It’s mid-week. Whether things are going good, or you’re feeling a bit over-whelmed, here’s an opportunity for us to connect and just check in. Because, there’s something reassuring about being a part of a community. So let’s join Nat and the rest of the gang for a little company and a boost to our week.

Widows and Widowers: 2pm ET, 11am PT, 8am HT

Join Roger Dennis for a time of sharing and connection. Together we will remember our partners and gain ideas on how to make living alone easier.

Easy Chair Yoga: 4pm ET, 1pm PT, 10am HT

All you need is a chair, some comfortable clothes, and no shoes and together we can enjoy a relaxing and stress-free hour in the comfort of our own homes. Hosted by Leslie Spoone, Certified Aerobic Instructor and Personal Trainer.

Drink Recipe Swap: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1pm HT

Each time we meet, the group decides on the next topic. This time it will be drinks. You can bring a healthy drink recipe, alcoholic drink, refreshing drink, or anything that falls in that category. Sheila looks forward to seeing what everyone comes up with!

Midlife Mingle: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Are you wanting to  increase your social circle, make new  friends, network, or  meet a special someone? Then , join us  for a  fun and lively  interactive  social  get together. Facilitated by Karen Hughes.

ACB Women Unite: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Come join ACB Women for this community call. We all know that women excel at meaningful and fun conversations. There’s a place in our circle waiting just for you.

BITS Open Chat: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Join our special-interest affiliate, Blind Information Technology Specialists for a nightly open chat.

Thursday, July 2, 2020

Coffee Social with Cindy: 11AM ET, 8:00 AM PT, 5am HT

Let’s get social. Join in the conversation over your favorite morning beverage. Facilitated by Cindy.

West Coast Coffee Break: 1pm ET, 10am PT, 7am HT

The ACB Capital Chapter of CCB invites you to bring your favorite beverage and join in this coffee social, West coast Style. Stay 5 minutes or the whole time. Everyone is welcome to take a break with us!

Open Chat with Missouri: 5pm ET, 2pm PT, 11am HT

Let’s stay social. Join this open chat with our friends from the Missouri Council of the Blind.

This Week at the Mini Mall: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1pm HT

Time to shop at the Mini Mall. Clearing out some products from the past to make way for the new. Come find a gift for someone special, and maybe that someone special can be you.

VISabilities – Visually Impaired Senior Abilities – Aging In Place: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1pm HT

Join us for the sixth in our series of calls Celebrating Our Senior Abilities.

Membership Focus Call – Listening to Convention: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

The Membership Committee brings Jeff Bishop and Tyson Ernst to the table to share the many ways to access this year’s virtual convention via ACB Radio using the internet, ACB Link app, Alexa, Victor Reader, and telephone. It all begins tomorrow, so have your questions ready, and join us.

Cancer Community Club: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Calling all cancer survivors and caregivers! Whether you are currently in treatment, in remission, or long past your battle, you are welcome to join our group! If you care or cared for someone with cancer, you are also welcome! Sara Conrad will facilitate our discussion as we discuss challenges including medical, emotional, physical, and social.

Sobriety First: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

This weekly meeting is for recovering alcoholics and addicts who cannot get to a meeting near their location.

BITS Open Chat: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Join our special-interest affiliate, Blind Information Technology Specialists for a nightly open chat.

Friday, July 3, 2020

ACB Virtual Convention begins!

Please note, to make way for our ACB Virtual Convention, there are no community events scheduled after July 2. So enjoy! To learn all the different ways to join the ACB 2020 Virtual Convention, visit: https://acb.org/join-2020-virtual-convention.

Why do this?

  • Because it gives new readers context. What are you about? Why should they read your blog?
  • Because it will help you focus your own ideas about your blog and what you’d like to do with it.

The post can be short or long, a personal intro to your life or a bloggy mission statement, a manifesto for the future or a simple outline of your the types of things you hope to publish.

To help you get started, here are a few questions:

  • Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?
  • What topics do you think you’ll write about?
  • Who would you love to connect with via your blog?
  • If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

You’re not locked into any of this; one of the wonderful things about blogs is how they constantly evolve as we learn, grow, and interact with one another — but it’s good to know where and why you started, and articulating your goals may just give you a few other post ideas.

Can’t think how to get started? Just write the first thing that pops into your head. Anne Lamott, author of a book on writing we love, says that you need to give yourself permission to write a “crappy first draft”. Anne makes a great point — just start writing, and worry about editing it later.

When you’re ready to publish, give your post three to five tags that describe your blog’s focus — writing, photography, fiction, parenting, food, cars, movies, sports, whatever. These tags will help others who care about your topics find you in the Reader. Make sure one of the tags is “zerotohero,” so other new bloggers can find you, too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s